AHS Counseling Staff

The Counseling Office is generally staffed from 7:45 am to 4:00 pm.

For general questions, please contact Margarita Dominguez, the counseling office secretary at 558-2650 or mdominguez@ausdk12.org. 

Requests for transcripts and work permits go directly to Ms. Dominguez.

Students and parents can communicate or schedule an appointment with their counselor by contacting their individual counselor. Contact information can be found below.

Counselors are assigned to individual students based on an alphabetical division of the student body. Counselor assignment is based on “LAST NAME.”

Please note the new alphabetical breakdown as of Aug. 2016:

Mrs. Aselstine (A - Coh)
maselstine@ausdk12.org 
510.558.2509
Hours: M, T, Th 8:10-11:30am
W, F 8:10am - 4pm

Ms. Burns (Col - Ki)
bburns@ausdk12.org
510.558.2504
Hours: M-F 8:10am-4pm

Mrs. Grogans (Kl - Rah)
tgrogans@ausdk12.org
510.558.2506
Hours: M-F 8:10am-4pm

Mrs. Durell (Rai-Z)
mdurell@ausdk12.org
510.558.2505
Hours: M-F 8:10am - 4pm


Ms. Peterson (
Mac Gregor)
dpeterson@ausdk12.org
510.559.6655
Hours: T 8:10am-4pm
8:10am-4pm
Th 8:10am-3:15pm



We are available to facilitate communication among students, teachers, parents and other members of the school community. We provide personal assistance to students in crisis and help families with referrals for further individual and family support when appropriate. If difficult family circumstances arise during the school year, such as an illness or loss in the family, we can help communicate such important information to teachers. In addition, we provide information about graduation requirements, college admissions, and other post-graduation options.

When a student or parent has a specific question about a class or a grade, it is best to first contact the teacher directly. If assistance is needed in continuing a dialogue, we can step in and help.


AHS Career Coordinator

For job/work/career/volunteer related inquiries, all students are encouraged to contact Ms. Parrott.

Ms. Parrott
cparrott@ausdk12.org
510.558.2508
Office Hours: T-Th 8:00am-3:30pm